FOR THE BIRDS~Single White Gull

a

I was sitting in the car on the cliffs a week or so ago, thinking deep thoughts and eating biscuits when, I became aware of a thumping from the back of the car which I ignored, because, who cares, its probably a serial killer bouncing someones head off the car and who wants to see that? A little later, a gull landed on the bonnet to check me out. I will take a stab that it’s a herring gull but don’t quote me on that. Gulls are notoriously difficult to identify. He disappeared again. The thumping restarted. Turns out he’s head butting my car.

1

2

3

He mostly does the back but he does at least one full tour around. I think he’s after my biscuits but when I get out of the car he scuttles off. Back in the car. Thumping restarts. Then I think he likes his reflection but most of the head butting is occurring at the non reflective bumper. Then he gets up on the boot.4

8

All I can think is that he thinks my car on the tarmacadam car park is a boat and he’s wondering where the fish guts are. Eventually he flies off to a real boat down in the water where all the other gulls have congregated…

I returned to that car park a week later and there he was, same gull, I assume, approaching the back of my car. So I left the car and walked off so I could watch him. He walked up to the bumper and tried to bite it. When I looked at the bumper it was more reflective than I though, he would have been able to see a shadow of himself in it.

51110

As had happened previously, another car arrived, a light coloured one,  and he went over for a look but  he decided he wasn’t interested and came back again to mine. So I am guessing its the reflectiveness of dark colours. Or else I really am a Bird Whisperer…

6

7b

7 responses to “FOR THE BIRDS~Single White Gull

Leave a Reply

