BROKEN MUSSEL

The Mermaids’ Purse is taking a break from blogging for the month of May but I have scheduled a picture post  for every Saturday so you won’t miss me too much…

I have just heard that a friend of mine, Michael Fortune, who is concerned about the mussel banks in the Suir Estuary, especially between Cheekpoint and Passage East in Waterford. He told me that all the mussels along there are dead and this is not a normal state of affairs. He does not know if this is natural or due to some sort of pollution. He has been onto the local council and the Environmental Detection Agency (EPA) regarding this issue but there seems to be little interest so he is in the local paper this week to highlight this issue. I may do a blog post on it down the line when more information comes to light. If anyone wants to contact me with information you can use the comment section below or the contact form on the ‘about’ page on this blog.

In the mean time you can read about it in The Munster Express, issue May 2nd 2017.

mussels passage.jpg

8 responses to “BROKEN MUSSEL

    • Thanks Suzanne..I am finsinhing off my degree in visual art so it may be fun…but also fraught…I have a lot of posts scheduled but won’t be doing the Sunday Blog Share and all that much. I’ll still be keeping an eye out for your lovely posts though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Like Suzanne I shall miss the posts. Fortunately, for those of us who have lived over half a century, time goes very fast, so it will seem like you’re hardly away. I hope the finishing off goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

