BERLIN

Street

I went to Berlin earlier this year on a college trip. As there were no tutors with us and I was staying at a different hostel from the rest of the group (it had a bar 🙂 ) and I tend to move fast, I spent a lot of the trip on my own which suited me. It was dull all the time and I came down with a cold and Berlin, I think, is more enjoyable for its social life and vibe-which can’t be picked up in a few days-than for any great feature or locations that distinguish it from any city anywhere. Still, I liked being somewhere new, the people were friendly (why the Irish have dibs on friendliness I do not know) and there were plenty of things that caught my eye besides all the galleries I visited.

The Berlin Film Festival was on so we caught sight of Julianne Moore coming out of a screening. Earlier I had wandered into the foyer of a screening which was teeming with TV cameras and well dressed helpers waiting for movie stars by way of a tiny vegetarian restaurant which bizarrely shared the facilities with the film venue. I wasn’t quite dressed for the part. I also did a personal tour of The Bourne movie locations and spent a pleasant afternoon in a bar sketching, drinking and-a bit of a novelty-smoking without having to step outside. I walked in the Tiergarten, was underwhelmed by the graffiti of the Berlin Wall and  the Brandburg Gate and brought to tears by the undistinguished Checkpoint Charlie. Mostly, as usual, it was the everyday things that caught my eye, the underground, the people, the buildings…

East Side Gallery

Alexanderplatz at night

Street

East Side Gallery

Julieanne Moore

Hauptbahnhof

Ai Wei Wei installation

U-Bahn Station

U-Bahn Station

8sm

U-Bahn Shadows

Checkpoint Charlie

Checkpoint Charlie

U-Bahn

U-Bahn Station

Friedrichshain Night

 

14 responses to “BERLIN

  1. You’re so right about Berliners. On my two very brief stays I found them very friendly and welcoming.

    I recognised the first pic with the faces, the office of Le Monde Diplomatique about two streets away from Checkpoint Charlie (which I found a bit too touristy and gimmicky) but what strikes me most about the photos is the blurs and long shadows of all the unfamiliar (to me) places.on a dull winter’s day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mel…yes those places could be anywhere and are familiar that way I think…Checkpoint Charlie was terribly tacky. I was surprised. ..and I guess that’s why I was surprised to be moved to tears reading some of the stories. I remember when there was a wall…so odd to think people gave their lives to get from one side of a nondescript street to another…and of course we’re still doing it..

      Like

  2. I really enjoyed this post! You gave a brief introduction and then filled the post with photos – well done. Somehow I could imagine you sitting at that bar sketching, drinking and smoking. Will never get to Berlin but it seems real and I remember the Wall and Checkpoint Charlie. Excellent post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh CC, you have cheered me up after a trying day!Thank you so much for your lovely words, it means a lot coming from a writer like you…I really enjoyed the piece I read…I must remember to check back and read more. Thanks again for visiting…I’ll be posting some work from that sketch pad this week I hope 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

