BABY ROBIN

bobby-robin

BOBBY

A few years ago I became attached to a wee Robin that lived in my hedge, a relationship that ended in a tragedy that competes with Romeo and Juliet for pathos with me cast as the villain. You can read about him here and here. That little robin, Bobby, had quite a distinct and dreamy personality. Not as pugnacious as your average robin he spent bright days on the wing mirror of my car keeping his reflection company and rainy days sheltered on the sill of the tiny window of the spare room that looked onto the hedge staring rain and the dripping briars.

robin-2-sm

BOBBY-DREAMING AT THE RAIN

Since Bobby’s premature demise  and the return from the dead of his girlfriend and her subsequent remarriage (I know, I know-I’m projecting but I have to get my drama somewhere), the robins have kept their distance as if they know somehow that I am a murderer. I imagine generations of baby robins being threatened with me as some sort of bogey woman if they don’t eat their berries.

rob1sm

STARTING TO GET CURIOUS…

Last month though I came across the most recent baby robin of the hedge. There only tends to be one unless it’s mating season as they are territorial. Within weeks of a chick hatching the parents leave. It is very hard to tell the difference between sexes though I think the females tend to be slimmer and it is generally the females that move on and the males that stay put.  I came across this little guy/gal when I was on an expedition into the ditch. There is a big north east leaning hawthorn in the hedge out the back which all the birds, sparrows, tits, robins, starlings, use as protection, for nesting and perching and which the cows use for shade. I had noticed some bindweed making it’s insidious way up the tree and so ventured into the hedge to rip it out by its roots.

rob6sm

CHECKING ME OUT

It was shady in there, the light dappling through the flickering leaves onto the stones of the old ditch showing through the moss that carpetted the little the sanctuary.I spent a satisfying hour murdering the bindweed in this little oases of peace and my clumsy rummaging eventually attracted the attention of the curious and annoyed little robin.

Robins always seem to be affronted, staring accusingly from high branches as they bob and twitter insults at idiots like me. I imagine them writing angry letters to local papers. This little one was no different as it flitted, annoyed among the branches. Still, it managed to carry on about its business. I even saw it deftly catch and consume a little white butterfly. It still had baby feathers though the red breast was becoming noticeable. After getting a few shots I retreated to the house to leave it in peace.

rob4sm

AFFRONTED…

rob5sm

LUNCH

rob3sm

GETTING IMPATIENT…

I have spotted it a few times since, though not often. The baby feathers are gone revealing a slim shape. It doesn’t have the dreamy trustingness of Bobby, who I murdered before his genes could impact the hedge-pool but it is also a bit intimidated by the sparrow gang so maybe not as saucy as the average robin. It is rare for me to get a shot of it out in the open.

I hope it, she maybe, will claim her space and stick around. I’ll try not murder this one…

peepsm

PEEP

This post is for Mona, whose funeral was on the day I found the little robin in the hedge. Rest in Peace Mona, you will be much missed.

16 responses to “BABY ROBIN

      • Funny, I’m just back from Newtown Wood and was thinking birds and birdsong and how little I know about their little ways.
        Ditches were among my mother’s favourite places, searching for wild flowers, nests and ‘the peace of wild things.’

        Liked by 1 person

      • I love Newtown woods…only ‘learned’ to hear owls there last year…they sound like a squeaky gate!…it is funny how when you stop and look around you how much is going on…I go through phases, once college heats up I won’t see the wee birds any more…but just now I am seeing lots. Just spotted a new arrival this morning, a goldfinch, never had one of those. Working on getting a photo. And your mother was on the right track I think, ditches are well worth a visit and very peaceful, I didn’t take advantage of mine for years :)’

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Love your Bobby drawings and these photos. My breeding pair have not showed up yet this year, not sure where they go but every year they come to The Happy Eater tree and live in the bushes behind it for a few months. I will try to get photos this year. Hope your latest survives your killer instincts 😊.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is lovely. The photos are really good too; please will you post a couple on the Birdwatch page? The ‘getting impatient’ one is particularly appealing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Chris, I should do that…I think I will start grouping my wee birds posts under a hedgerow section…just got a shot of my shy little wren this morning too!Its not great but better than any so far.

      Like

  3. Dear MermaidI have just taken great delight in reading about your interactions with Robins.But poor little Bobby…my only consolation is that I have a portrait of little Bobby sitting on your car mirror, which I bought from you last year.I didn’t know the story behind that little picture until just now…..what can I say?yoursRed Squirrel x

    From: THE MERMAIDS PURSE To: jane.skinner21@yahoo.com.au Sent: Saturday, 17 September 2016, 16:44 Subject: [New post] BABY ROBIN #yiv3294908993 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3294908993 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3294908993 a.yiv3294908993primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3294908993 a.yiv3294908993primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3294908993 a.yiv3294908993primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3294908993 a.yiv3294908993primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3294908993 WordPress.com | Monster Mermaid posted: “A few years ago I became attached to a wee Robin that lived in my hedge, a relationship that ended in a tragedy that competes with Romeo and Juliet for pathos with me cast as the villain. You can read about him here and here. That little robin, Bobby, h” | |

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane!I was just thinking of you this morning…imaginng I might write to you soon! 🙂 🙂 thanks for reminding me thatyou have one of the picture of little Bobby, I am glad you do, especially the mirror one, I miss him standing out there looking at himself…hope life is good, hi to allxxxx

      Like

  4. If you want to get goldfinches visiting this winter, hang up a nyger seed feeder – they really go for them. They like peanuts too. We usually had up to 20 visiting at least once each day last winter – so pretty, but difficult to photograph as they never keep still!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve actually been putting out nyger seed on your recommendation so maybe ‘why this little chap turned up…didn’t think anyone was eating it!I took some photos…but yes, theyre fairly bad, thanks Chris.

      Like

Leave a Reply

