A QUESTION…

Hello my followers-ooo that makes me feel like some sort of cult leader! I have not been posting here for a while and my feeling is that the Mermaids Purse has reached a point where I would like to review and edit my posts with a view to collating them and possibly publishing them.

As I have also been asked to share posts from this blog on a writers forum I have been considering re-posting the posts as I edit them at the rate of one per week. Some posts may be changed only slightly while others have more radical editing and more than a few will be left out. It is likely of course that I will be inspired to write some new posts as well as I have always had a back log of subjects that I want to write about.

My question is would any of you, my followers, object to seeing old posts in your inboxes and readers?Be honest too, because I don’t want to bore anyone either…

Thanks in advance…

46 responses to “A QUESTION…

  1. I don’t subscribe to collectivist sites, as for me they often feel too impersonal for what I want from blogging, and I suspect I would rarely be interested in all the contributors’ offerings. Also, I have too many subscriptions as it is, without being fed re-posts. Please excuse my frankness, if you will.

    Liked by 1 person

      • From the few collectivist blog sites I’ve seen, then they seem to end up as mutual appreciation societies; though admittedly, my sample size is very small. Collating and editing your past posts for the purposes of republishing as an eBook sounds a very sensible proposition, on the other hand, especially if it could be freely downloadable on your blog. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I know what you mean about collective blogs and I have tended not to subscribe either…though this one is new and seems to be very much about writing rather than blogging per se and are also offering the service of an editor which I thought might be interesting…but I haven’t made up my mind yet…your input is much appreciated, thanks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • My comment would be more or less the same as Jessica’s. Sometimes I read everything, but especially when we’re away and Internet access is limited I can’t or don’t. But bored or annoyed, definitely not.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Chris, that’s good to know…II miss posts on other peopkes blogs a lot…I miss posting myself but I haven’t much time so re editing old work would save me time but looking at the comments maybe I’ll try some sort of combination of old and new…or teaser posts…or maybe posts about compiling posts…I do know one thing, I think I will post questions more often, love the amount of comments and the great thoughts I’m getting 🙂 🙂

        Like

  2. Not a long time follower myself so reposts won’t be annoying me.

    I would say though I used to follow a guy who kinda ran out of things to say so would re use old posts. I didn’t mind at first because he changed them quite dramatically, but he slipped into almost like for like reposts, and then promptly lost all his old followers.

    I guess for your old followers, how much will you change the posts and how many old followers do you have that will have to re-read the same thing?

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is it isnt it?There are a lot of people writing now and it can be hard to keep up with all the posts even when you really want to…none of us have that much time and it might put people off to see the same stuff coming up…thanks for your comment…its great to get this feedback…it will help me work out a way to move forward 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Different circumstances to yours though, and how much different would your edited posts be, also how many people read then the first time around?

        Personally for my blog, if it was relevant I could probably post everything from 2007 again and nobody would notice haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha!Yes I do wonder too how many people read right the way through…I’ve been guilty of liking posts and intending to get back to them and then forgetting or losing track of them…I think a lot of my earlier posts would change radically while the more recent ones would have seen the result of the learning curve…but still I find every time I revisited my stuff I see ways to improve…but I may be better off concentrating on new stuff…you’ve been blogging since 2007?That’s brilliant, well done you!I must have a look!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I read most things right away, but for my first year on Livejournal I had maybe 50 subscribers? Many of which did not follow me to WordPress heh.

        Oh god no to my old stuff haha. My nonsensical crap from 2007 lays on live journal site somewhere haha! Current blog is a merging of 5 WordPress blogs dating back to 2008ish.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahah! Sableyes.co.uk? There’s a good example. It has about 600+ posts. I can imagine people scanning back a few pages, but honestly who’s going to check all 600+ posts on my blog? How many will make it all the way to page one where I used to blog about Linux? Heh. Very few people I imagine.

        Good luck with the tyre 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s not that reposting is a bad idea – it can revive your old posts. But why would people buy the book then when it comes out? Even if you’re giving the book for free, people will already have read what’s in it, and quite recently too, if you’re reposting. Why not a few tantalising posts, and maybe some posts about the process of putting together an ebook?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have no problems with re-posting. I do it myself, sometimes.
    I agree that a book of your posts might struggle to interest some folk. And a book about blogging and publishing those posts might be better, We all have favourite posts that we are proud of. But, once they are published they are old news…sadly.
    Keep up the good work and let us know how your book comes along. x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Honestly, I wouldn’t mind either way. Just to know you’re still alive is a good thing. If you’re alive then it means there might be some new artistic goodies down the track. (By the way, I’d definitely own a print collection of your comics and illustrations. Oh yes, I very much would!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great to hear Tony…maybe I’ll rename the blog Signs of Life…:D actually, that may happen yet!…as for the cartoons there’s a plan for them too…though everything is going to be moving pretty slowly while I’m still studying….but…I’d like to get my blog heartbeat going at more regular pace, maybe smaller posts is the answer…and though I have one of your e-books I would love a print book of your work…have you got one published? (See, Im so out of the loop I dont even know 😦 )…anyway thanks for that, much appreciated x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh no, you’re not out of the loop at all. People have been encouraging me for years to bring out a collection of CC strips. I think I’ll finally make that happen in the next six months though. I’m getting to the point where wanting to have something in print will soon outweigh my fear of it not being good enough. Fingers crossed. Seriously glad you’re still creating by the way. The wait between posts is always worth it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh great…I’m pleased you’re going to do a book…not good enough!?it will be brilliant. ..I love your work, and there’s something about visual work in print rather than online that’s unbeatable…I’ll be wanting one…and thanks for being there for my erratic posts…I’m embarrassed by my lack of structure…but I’ll keep trying! 🙂 Thanks Tony

        Liked by 1 person

  6. …ooo…I’m so full of the flu’ I’m not sure I should comment…but… if you change what you do or how you do it with negative effect, you can always return to what was working previously (ask Pamo!!!)…& might I suggest a concurrent blog (fresh title etc) for everything plus re-issues…which, for an extra cut & paste, would still keep those of us following the continuum re-run free….(dunno…did that make sense?)….off for a lie down now….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Tony, yuck flu, hope you get well soon… thanks for the encouragement…and yes a concurrent blog does make sense I think..it would mark a departure and keep thing separate…and like you say I can always try stuff, no ones gonna die (well not many 🙂 )thanks for that…and mind yourself…lots of liquids, bed rest and octopi…

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I would be happy to read your posts that I have missed, but if I saw it was a re-post I had read I probably would not take time to read again. Not sure how much you could improve them. However, I understand the need to re-write and make them better and you need something to get you started again. I do think publishing them would be great and in a blog is a good way. A friend had hers made into a book just for her family. I think it was called blog-to-book but not really professional published as you want to do. Just do whatever is comfortable for you as a writer and don’t worry about the rest of us. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks CC…actually a personal book is a nice idea…it’s be good to see something in print I think…and that would be a good way to do it…appreciate that…always nice to hear from you 🙂

      Like

  8. Couldn’t see a problem with re-posting Clare – people can always skip posts they’re familiar with. I know that recently I’ve been really struggling to keep up with all the notifications in my inbox (and even to post myself) so inevitably posts will be missed. A book would be a real thrill to have. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Aidan…good to hear from you…I always love your posts yet I’ve missed tons of them in the last while so I know exactly what you mean…thanks for that, that was my feeling too, though with the other feedback as well I think Ill modulate my idea a bit…yes I think a book would be nice and a good way to draw a line under things and move forward…visual work is always nice to see on paper…I hope you may consider one too at some point…thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

  9. I like revisiting great videos, artwork and writings — I just spent time looking at my media on Twitter from the last year. With the amount of stuff we consume every day, week and year, it’s nice to be reminded. Please do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

