GO ALREADY!

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Once I had a canine friend, who, through no fault of his own, was scheduled for execution by the local pound. I was not privy to the ins and outs but I knew the pound were supposed to send someone to pick him up. The days went by. Every time saw him, I would stop, sit with him, sink my hand into his coarse fur, my heart heavy, my eyes to the cruel sky and try to effect a proper goodbye, convinced I would never see him again. The next time I passed there he would be. Still. After about three days of emotional goodbyes my nerves were wearing a bit thin. His owners, no doubt feeling the same way, if not worse, took the matter into their own hands and brought him to the pound after which we could all get on with our grieving in peace.

I am starting to feel the same about the swallows.

Once people used to think swallows spent the Winter under water. This came about as they were often seen entering reed beds in search of insects in the evenings and not seen emerging. Reed cutters would occasionally find a dead one in the water and as, back in the day, there wasn’t much time for standing around keeping tabs on swallows, it was a quick leap to supposing them to be aquatic. Watching them fly with their round heads like helmets and their wings tight to their sides as they dive it would be easy to imagine them bombing along like torpedoes under the surface.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Speaking of round heads I once heard of a person nicknamed Swallow. Some thought it was because of his obviously round head. Others claimed it came about in school when he was asked to write an essay on swallows. I imagine him, tongue visible between pursed lips, as he wrote painstakingly, Bic biro digging into the lined copy book,

The swallow is a migratory bird.

It was at this point, not being a studious child, he came to a dead stop. After wracking his brains for a while he decided he could only write what he knew and finished his two line “essay” in the colloquial…

He have a roundy head.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

For the last few weeks the swallows have been gathering, performing aeronautics in the sky about my house, hoovering up insects for the journey or to feed the demanding young perched impatiently on my aerial or preening, stretching and lifting weights on the telegraph wire above my house. I shot some great pictures and got to know them better than I had before.

The young have shorter tails than the adults and often tussle with each other as they perch. They screech as their parents, looking distinctly and increasingly harassed, approach with bugs. They do a lot of stretching, like yoga. They seem to talk a lot to each other. I even have a shot of an adult swallow, beak open, its wing on the shoulder of a younger one looking for all the world like it’s giving a scolding.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

DOGFIGHT!

They are amazing fliers. I saw one get involved in a dogfight with a wagtail, who was not in the same league aeronautically. Somehow I had thought swallows were above brawling, being all foreign and sophisticated. Not this one. I imagined him screeching

“Putain!Merde!Take thet you ‘orrible leetle vagtail!”

I enjoyed it all until one day recently noticed they were there no more. Thinking it was a bit early but relieved at finally being able to get to grips with the drama of abandonment I thought, with hand to brow to shield myself metaphorically from the approaching winter…

“Ah goodbye dear swallows!Adieu!”

So I was put out to be accosted by a gang of them on my evening walk.
And so the days go.

“They’re gone!”
“They’re back! “

In recent days I have started becoming impatient and little less sentimental.

“Go already!”

Go. So we can start looking forward to the day when you come back again.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

20 responses to “GO ALREADY!

  1. A lovely and informative article, for which many thanks. They truly are amongst the loveliest of birds I think, and how wonderful it is when they swoop closely over one’s head at great speed – amazing agility! Your watercolours are a delight too.

    Like

  2. aw, excellent paintings! Don’t see many swallows where I live, but sometimes on photography outings near lakes and suchlike, never managed to photograph any though! They sound very flim flam as to wether they are going on their travels or not. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know those emotions all too well. Reminds of when my sibs were going back to boarding school and the difficulty if there was a change of timing. It’s never left me and that’s back in the middle or so of the last century!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved this article and the paintings – so natural looking.

    The reason for the ‘they’ve gone’, ‘they’re back’ so often is that the ones who’ve been your companions through the summer HAVE gone, although their broods often go later, using the last week or two to strengthen their wings and take on board some more calories. Some of those you are seeing now will be from further north, stopping for one last gorge of our plentiful insects before they too decide the time is right.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Chris….I was wondering about that. Didn’t think I recognised any of my lads..:) …and strangely some of them look bigger!More insects for those whose journey starts inland than on the coast maybe?

      Like

Leave a Reply

