THE SALISBURY CRAGS:PART ONE

CRAGS2 SM

GIANT:PEN, INK, BRUSH ON PASTEL PAPER

I used to live in Edinburgh and it was there I picked up painting again after a hiatus of a few years. I had never stopped carrying a sketch pad and it was sketching in Holyrood Park on Arthur’s Seat above the city that inspired me again.

Arthur’s Seat itself is a grassy volcanic hill that over looks Edinburgh and from which you can see the Highlands on a good day. It wasn’t the view that spoke to me but the looming craggy cliffs, the Salisbury Crags or The Crags as they are locally known, that line the steep path that runs between the city and the parklands.

CRAGS3 SM

CHARCOAL AND PENCIL ON PAPER

In the rocky face I could see giants of ages past, frozen in massive struggle with the elements, trapped in their own earthbound-ness, impeded by their own mass, their powerful writhings emphasised by the uncomplicated blue of a clear sky. I suppose I felt some kind of affinity with these cracked and tortured monsters as a creature struggling with itself through the trials and tribulations of the earthbound life. With hindsight it was not only the tortured-ness that attracted me but the power, muscularity and staying power too.

In the event I painted and exhibited a number of pieces but here are some studies which I have just unearthed and which have some of the rawness the finished pieces don’t have.

CRAGS1 SM

PEN AND INK ON PASTEL PAPER

14 responses to “THE SALISBURY CRAGS:PART ONE

    • Thanks Dan!These ones are scanned on a fairly good scanner (not mine 🙂 ) Sometimes I photograph them. To be honest on the blog I don’t worry too much about getting it exactly right and sometimes I leave deliberate errors to discourage downloading.

      Like

  1. You’d know more about the dangers to an artist of posting a really great image, but writers are more interested in publicity than piracy. These scans are so good and show off your work so well that I’m much more impressed with how beautiful it truly is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Dan…it’s an area that I am sort of ambivalent about (and I don’t know much about except it can be hard to stop images being downloaded) or at least it changes depending on what I am showing. I think with paintings I don’t mind have good quality images up and anyone who appreciates painting will never be satisfied with a print out anyway. With more graphic stuff maybe it’s more problematic…really I guess its something that I haven’t had to get to grips with yet though I feel I ‘should’…horrible word that :). Mostly it’s nice to share and also it is great publicity like you say.

      Like

    • Thanks CC..I guess I was trying to get across that feeling of being ones own worst enemy sometimes…we sometimes we make things even more difficult for ourselves ….thanks, it is lovely to hear from you, as always.

      Like

Leave a Reply

