MEMORIES OF ANS

This is an old post I often share on the anniversary of Ans passing. So many people have enjoyed reading it in the past I decided to re-post it. If you’re having a drink today, and if you feel like it, make it a gin and orange…

THE MERMAIDS PURSE

WAITING FOR THE NIGHT MAN oil on board SCOTT 2011 WAITING FOR THE NIGHT MAN oil on board 2011

In January 1998 I went to Amsterdam thinking I had a job lined up but it disappeared as soon as I got there. With money low and jobs scarce I ended up in a Christian hostel in the Red Light district cleaning for my bed and board while desperately looking for work.

One day I walked into the Travel Hotel, a tiny, spotlessly clean hotel on the edge of the Red Light district. I was given a job as a cleaner but after a couple of days I was put behind reception. There was quite a big turnover of staff in the hotel partly because Amsterdam is a hub for people moving on but mostly because of the demanding standards of the two ladies in charge.

Dorothie, a slight, brittle, blonde, owned the hotel along with her handsome husband, Hans while Ans…

View original post 1,668 more words

Leave a Reply

