LIFE’S A BEACH

TOWARD-MINE-HEAD

TOWARD MINE HEAD, CO.WATERFORD

I had a rubbish day last week and as the sun set I drove down to the sea to sit for a while. I watched the sky streaked with rhubarb and custard darken over a lavender sea as the rocks and islands blackened to silhouettes while the far headlands faded into the west . I won’t pretend that everything was suddenly wonderful again but it did give me a little space, a little bit of distance from my daily travails. It got me out of my head.

I had thought it ozone was responsible for this seaside high but according to Wikipedia I may be a bit behind on my thinking as “In the Victorian era, one British folk myth held that the smell of the sea was caused by ozone. In fact, the characteristic “smell of the sea” is caused by dimethyl sulfidea chemical generated by phytoplankton. Victorian British folk considered the resulting smell “bracing,” but in high concentrations, dimethyl sulfide is actually toxic.”

In fact the air by the sea~or in the mountains, near waterfalls or after a storm~ is charged with negative ions, ions which have broken apart or have lost (or gained) their charge( I am sort of weak on the science) due to pounding surf or sunlight for instance, which accelerate our absorption of oxygen and balance levels of seratonin which is related to mood and stress. So they say. Certainly negative ionizers are marketed as a means to help soothe the symptoms of depression or low mood.

As someone who resides by the sea I am not going to argue. It is rare that you’ll end feeling worse for a trip down to the sea.

STORMY-GARRARUS

STORMY GARRARUS

You can buy this artwork on Etsy… https://www.etsy.com/ie/shop/TheMermaidsPurseArt?ref=search_shop_redirect

16 responses to “LIFE’S A BEACH

    • That is wonderful to hear Rachael…Rothko is one of my heroes…funny I was going to do one of the sky without the headland because the colors were so delicious. I may yet do that…thanks again…you’ve made my day 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks Tony….I’m pleased to know the feeling comes through. I wish you lived by the sea too…an ionizer maybe?I might even try one myself!I hope that we all feel better more often regardless…

      Like

  1. I had a rubbish week but like you I find a walk on the beach is always healing and inspiring. My mind empties, the sound of waves crashing on the shore and seagulls squawking overhead is music to my soul.

    Your pictures are beautiful. They capture that serenity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,
    This comment doesn’t concern your writing, so it may be considered a tad irrelevant, but having just seen your paintings, I knew I had to say something.

    They are beautiful, just lovely. I felt a calmness wash over me as I looked at them.

    *cough* Anyway that’s quite enough of that.

    -A

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well Amy I don’t care if it has nothing to do with my writing because I love it! 🙂 thank you for such a nice boost today…I really appreciate it and trust me, theres never enough of that sort of thing, feel free to come and visit any time…

      Like

Leave a Reply

