STEPPING STONES

SHEEP ISLAND smIn the last couple of months a lot of my head space has been taken up with big life changes that are taking a long time to take effect. Its sort of like watching my life explode in excruciatingly painful slow motion but that’s not really the subject of this post. Through all this my posting unintentionally slowed to a trickle.

It is not that I haven’t been working at it. I have been spending time bringing my various visions to paper but my most recent efforts have not come anywhere near what I want them to be. I am a little ‘off’. It could be that I am trying too hard or expecting too much but most likely it is all the changes that are afoot as well as the summer visitors and friends with more time to spend are discombobulating me.

I don’t subscribe to the idea that we have to wait for perfect conditions to create but sometimes what we create is not so good. In fact to be a good at any kind of creating you have to be prepared to create a lot of crap. Which is what I am doing right now. Which is OK but I am damned if I am going to post it….

I not only enjoy blogging for connection and feedback but because it is an effective conclusion for any idea, it helps keep the idea conveyor belt rolling. So right now I am getting a little frustrated and backed up.

To relieve some of the pressure I have turned to my sketch book which is sparse enough but I like these scribbles because they had no time to form as ideas, I had no expectations of them. They are what they are, efforts to stop and be still in face of the mayhem in my head and a reminder of how it is possible to enjoy, or at least attend to, each moment and to use them as stepping-stones into a future that is uncontrollable and might appear alarming if we were not so pleasantly occupied skipping from one sun~washed moment to another intent only on where we are placing our feet…KILFARRASY SMBURKES ISLAND sm

Leave a Reply

