TIME FOR TEA

T-BAY TABLES

T-BAY TABLES

T-BAY

T-BAY

Well my friends it has been a while. I seem to be going through yet another process of fermenting…I have a lot of those 🙂 The excuse this time is that it is coming to the end of the year and I have been ruminating on how best to take my painting and artwork forward into 2013.

One of the biggest things that slows me down once I get inspiration is the fact that my brain gets so excited it gallops off in ten different directions at once. In the past I haven’t been able to just do a couple of paintings, any idea I have I invariably want to expand it into a whole show complete with block prints and occasionally 3D pieces and other twirly bits.

THE VIC

THE VIC

Though I do love planning pictures and shows, this kind of carry-on can burn me out pretty quickly, often destroys perfectly serviceable ideas and results in months of dejection and lethargy.

I am glad to say have pinpointed this habit and I think I have put the lid on some of my more excitable ideas this year, reigned in the horsey of my enthusiasm so to speak and I can tell you that it has been a great relief to just produce a painting here and there as and when I get inspired.

ALSO CAFE LIBRO

ALSO CAFE LIBRO

I think that the next step for me is to narrow my focus, to spend periods of time doing just one type of work and possibly even to restrict my work to particular  sizes. This would help in another way too.

Financially, as for so many of us now, money is tight and it seems to make little sense to pour cash into creating art. I have tried to give up painting in the past and, like a stray dog, it keeps coming back but I do think I will have to find a cheaper way of producing work and creating smaller pieces would help.

I haven’t quite got to grips with all these elements yet and so, in the mean time, I have been ‘fermenting’ in various establishments around and about while having tea and cake and doing some doodles, which you see here.

T-BAY

T-BAY

On the practical side of things, I have also been clearing out of some of my paintings and to that end I have a€50 sale on my website, if anyone is interested http://clarescott.ie/SALE2012.htm

THE VIC AGAIN

THE VIC AGAIN

Next year I think I will find a gallery to take my work. It will mean my prices will go up and I will also lose money as the commissions are so high.

I have avoided galleries in the past because many gallery owners who set up during the boom had no idea how do anything except rake in the money and did little to deserve their commissions but there are few good ones out there and I think now is the time, while there are few buyers around, to get a reputable dealer to widen my prospective audience for the future boom of 2023…

CAFE LIBRO

CAFE LIBRO

And so Christmas will be spent framing and fermenting and having tea and other refreshments. I hope everyone who reads this(and damn the ones who don’t 🙂 )has a wonderful holiday. See you in the next cartoon!

2 responses to “TIME FOR TEA

    • HI Joe :)I’m in good company so.I don’t know if you get this from non-artists but I find a lot of them think that its the lack of ideas are the killer, the blank canvas, when its always too many ideas or too elaborate ones that trip most of us up 🙂 More tea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

