LEAVING CONNEMARA:WESTPORT PANNINIS & SLIGO SEAWEED BATHS

I got on the road the next morning, which was dry and bright and headed for Westport. I drove to Leenaun and stopped at Killary harbour for a couple of photos. It’s Ireland only fjord but as fjords go I’m guessing it’s not that great. Not that I’ve seen many. Still looks pretty.

KILLARY HARBOUR

Driving out of Connemara the cloven mountains loomed above in the sun and shadow, their deep wounds glistening and gushing from recent rains. I drove through woodlands past an abandoned cottage in dappled light and soft grass and ferns beside a rushing stream.

CROAGH PATRICK FROM THE ROAD

RUINED COTTAGE

The land flattened out and ahead the conical Croagh Patrick on the horizon, a wide grey trail that has carried centuries of worshippers to the top. I had intended to climb it but only to worship the view of Clew Bay rather than for any hope of divine assistance. I decided the chances of a view were  nearly as slim as the aforementioned godly help this time around and carried on to Westport.

NICOLA’S FOOD EMPORIUM

Westport is a pretty little town and had featured in the Irish Times only days before as being the best place in Ireland to live. It’s is clean, bright and colourful and I saw nothing that would particularly contradict that finding except that it’s a little too far from the sea for me. I stopped off in Nicolas’ Food Emporium right at the entrance to the cheap car park where I dumped the car. It’s a sunny little cafe and not only was the tea good(unusual to get a nice cup of tea outside my own house)but the Panini was generous and delicious presented on the thinnest crispiestbread I have encountered. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2012/0630/1224319008044.htmlIt was a beautiful drive all the way through Mayo and into Sligo, dry, sometimes sunny, sometimes overcast, with cowslips nodding in the ditches and the grasses rich and sable like from recent rains.

PLEASING CHAIRS

I didn’t stay long, I hadn’t booked anywhere to sleep that night and I also wanted to stop in Inniscrone in Sligo to try out their seaweed baths (http://www.kilcullenseaweedbaths.com/). The baths were built a century ago, opening in 1912, and have been in use since. The low building with its chequered tiles and skylit reception is situated on a road that overlooks the sea.  I was led to a single room, a large rectangular tiled room, that was vaguely lit by a frosted window.

LADY OF THE SEA(WEED)

I had been under the impression I would have to wear a swimsuit but thankfully that’s not necessary-unless you have a fear of your own bodser of course :s . Inside was a cedar wood steam cabinet and an old iron tub filled with hot water and tons of seaweed and a pleasing wooden chair the type one used to find in Bewleys cafe in Dublin, with its double back of curved cane and embossed roundy seat. These are the types of things that please me these days. I was left to my own devices, something I like.

I COULD LIVE IN ONE OF THESE

I have no idea how long I could have stayed but in the event I lingered an hour or so, jumping in and out of the steam cabinet and bath and shivering under showers of cold Atlantic water. Steaming is an addiction for me and I often swear that if I ever got the money to build my own house I would start by building a steam bath and plunge pools and if I ran out of money after that well I’d just camp out for the rest of my life all pink and happy from my ablutions. Anyhoo, I really enjoyed the experience, more so because I don’t have a bath in my own house. I’m not sure how much good the seaweed can do you in just one session but I do know from sea swimming that seaweed in the water is good for you. It was €25 which was OK for a treat but you wouldn’t want to be doing it too much though I believe there is a discount scheme for regular users. I drove the coast road through Easky, a surfing mecca on the Sligo coast after which one of our best female surfers, Easky Britton , is named. I had a vague plan of stopping off for a surf but I decided not to as I thought I may be out of my depth in more ways than one. The countryside here is flat to the sea. Stone walls, a castle, colouredy cows and a wonderful feeling of space  in the evening light. It is landscape I wouldn’t mind mooching around in if I had more time.

OUR MAN IN SLIGO

On I continued, passing through Sligo and headed to Rosses point where I intended to stay, mostly out of romanticism due to it’s getting a mention by Yeats in the Stolen Child and sentimentalism for the “other” Metal Man. I thought it would be rude  not to pay my respects. On arriving though, I thought better of it. The whole place gave off an air of being a retirement town except it wasn’t even a town. Don’t get me wrong I’m not mad about rowdy places but I would have like to stay somewhere where I could wander around a bit. There did not seem to be any apparent beach near the “town” and few shops. There was a colourful looking bar, Harry’s, but in the face of a soulless, deserted looking house masquerading as a hostel I decided to move on to Bundoran. NEXT:BUNDORAN,YIKES.

Leave a Reply

