MORNING SWIM:KILFARRASY

BOUFFANT OVER BURKES

RAIN BEYOND BURKES ISLAND

One of the things I like about the Irish weather is that it makes you seize not only the day, but the moment and in that spirit I went to Kilfarrasy this morning for a dip before the next round of rain, visible in the west.

The beach was piled with rotting kelp and the sea was cloudy and a bit sulky but, as always, it was a wonderful dip. The birds cruised overhead and the sun faded in and out. A cormorant stood sentinel on the pointy rocks as a trawler rounded Burkes Island, checking its pots. I lay back and kicked sending a plume of water into the air, causing a gull to come and check out if I was edible.

One of the things I love is being in the shower a bath or the sea and one of the things I most hate is drying myself. It’s so tedious! This morning, for the first time this year, it was warm enough after my swim to stand on the beach in my swimsuit drinking tea and luxuriating in the breeze on my skin and just being alive, still upright, independent and face to face with this beautiful world.

I sat under the George Braque-ish cliffs a while and finished a book I was reading and made some sketches before I heading off into the rest of the day.

GEORGE BRAQUE-LIKE CLIFFS

GEORGE BRAQUE-LIKE CLIFFS

BURKES ISLAND

BURKES ISLAND

KILFARRASY ROCKS

2 responses to “MORNING SWIM:KILFARRASY

Leave a Reply

