BACK ON THE BOARD

SHOT THROUGH WITH SILVER

SHOT THROUGH WITH SILVER

Feeling more than a little fragile after a midweek reunion with some art school luminaries, I staggered out of bed this morning and straight into my wetsuit. Surf has been pumping since last night and all the old hands were out. I missed the best of it-thankfully. It’s been so long since I’ve been in that I would have been getting in people’s way.

What a morning. The sea is pinstriped indigo and turquoise, shot through with silver, while overhead clouds move slowly, dappling the waves with shadows. Out back the surfers are dropping down into white netted silver-green tubes while the gannets fall like plumb lines into the bay.

I stayed in the puppy-like breakers and had an hour or so of being pummelled by ermine waves some of which I even caught. Eventually the sea did it’s business and I started to feel a bit human again.

Afterwards on, deck at T-Bay I had tea and a macaroon attended by opportunistic sparrows, sheeny starlings and lurking crows.

TEA AND MACAROON ON DECK

TEA AND MACAROON ON DECK

 

 

 

 

Michael Quinn, surfer and star chef at Waterford Castle stopped by for a chat. Check out his blog http://quinnatthestove.blogspot.com/ Michael just won Best Chef and Best Hotel Restaurant for Waterford at the Irish Restaurant Awards.

Have a great weekend, see y’all next week.

PINSTRIPE

4 responses to “BACK ON THE BOARD

    • Thanks Foxy. I have been very bad a getting out there in the past year… and then I drag myself out and it’s always worth it:)Must try harder!

      Like

    • Oh thank you Cathleen, that is great praise indeed, I am so happy to able to bring someone the sea 🙂 Many thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

