SUNNY DAYS & SKETCHY CURMUDGEONS

ALONE

ALONE

I like the sun but I dread the unconscious masses that swarm in its radiance and the limitations it imposes on my world. I often feel like Data in Star Trek, trying to understand humans but not having much success and when the sun comes out the lunatics seem to multiply in its heat.

I was driving down the steep hill to Garrarus during the week when I passed two cyclists, a man and a woman with no helmets, like every other cyclist I have seen this week, out enjoying the good weather. It was only when I passed that I realised the man had a baby on his cross bar, a child of maybe 18 months or so also without a helmet.

Down at the beach people gather because they think its a nice place to be only to leave their rubbish and their dog shit behind them. Others drive really slowly as if they are driving safely except that they are driving the wrong way up a one way promenade that is teeming with children crossing the road.

The dog owners allow their dogs to run riot and the parents allow their children to run riot and leave stinking nappies on the sand and all are outraged when anyone complains.

MORE GIRL TALK

GIRL TALK

Yes, you may have noticed, I am somewhat curmudgeonly in my attitude to large crowds of people. A curmudgeon is an ill-tempered person full of resentment and stubborn notions. My stubborn notion is that crowds of people are ignorant and generally to be avoided.

Sometimes I do brace myself and head down to the beach and check out the hustle and bustle which I am not completely immune to. I find a place on the deck at the cafe and watch the world go by and maybe do a bit of drawing which is what I did a little of this week.

GIRL TALK

MORE GIRL TALK

I like drawing people, its good practice for quick, loose sketching which is defined more by its energy than by its draughtsmanship. Like anything you improve and get faster with practice. I really must do more of it.

It may be impolite to draw people without asking but then it’s also impolite for people to leave rubbish around and allow their children and animals to annoy me so it all evens out in the end.

After an hour or so, I have had enough “civilisation” and I head for home and I confess that it is with a certain amount of relief that when I open my curtains the following day all I see is grey cloud stretching toward the horizon.

DECK IS EMPTY, SUN HAS GONE

DECK IS EMPTY, SUN HAS GONE

2 responses to “SUNNY DAYS & SKETCHY CURMUDGEONS

  1. One of the reasons I don’t shoot street photography, never felt 100% comfortable photographing strangers never mind models!!

    Like

    • Yeh its an odd one. I have seen some good “From the Hip”stuff and the style appeals to me but doing it is a different thing. Its easier to draw them actually, it feels less invasive somehow probably because I am concentrating on them more as a general figure than an actual personality and they never end up looking like themselves:). Most people have no problem photographing strangers though. I was on my board one day,close to shore (as always)to turn around to find a couple with a child crawling ignored at their feet while they video-ed me making a fool of myself. I can see them on a winters night showing off their photo album to relatives-“And heres a shot of a middle aged woman who we don’t know splashing around in a tight neoprene suit in the sea!” Very odd. I understand people taking shots of surfers, who are usually further out and like to have shots of themselves but it would be polite, I think, to offer the surfers in question copies.

      Like

Leave a Reply

