BREAK-YOUR-HEART-BLUE

L'ESTAQUE WITH RED ROOFS(PAUL CEZANNE)

L’ESTAQUE WITH RED ROOFS(PAUL CEZANNE)

There is a walk I do from my house which takes me a long the coast in a loop. I have done it hundreds of times but I have yet to get tired of it.

It was beautiful today. Though there was a cold wind from the west, the light was rich and honeyed, the waters of the Bay the most amazing blue, the kind of blue that reminds me of the Firth of Forth at Edinburgh which was visible from so many parts of that beautiful city or of a  Cezanne painting. As I could walked I could feel the blue resonating in my chest. I could call it Break-Your-Heart Blue it was so vibrant and rich.

Today, every step of the way, something caught my attention, from my own shadow, to a twist of ivy root, to a familiar and much-loved stump(much-loved by me that is, and I know, it’s weird to love stumps).

The daffodils were nodding on the ditch at the top of the road and further along, in the sun on an ivy covered wall, two cats sat facing each other, as if in deep conversation.

PALS

PALS

As I walked down from Rocketts Bar(now closed) I saw an Anvil Head cloud out over the sea. I do like a nice Anvil Head, which occurs when cold air rises until it meets warm air and then spreads out to form the shape of an anvil.

The crows at Newtown House were chasing each other, wheeling through the blue sky that was crazy-paved with the twisted branches of squiggly trees. Further on the apple blossoms delicately kissed the sky.

BLOSSOMS

BLOSSOMS

TREE

TREE

I passed a plump Collared Dove perched on a wire on Newtown Hill and then I turned to walk onto the Cliff Road running along the west side of the bay with to Newtown Cove & the Guillamene which is a mecca for swimmers all year around. Beyond are the woods ferns glowing between the shadows that laddered the curving road which was edged with the mush of last years leaves.

Everywhere I looked I could see possible paintings, photographs, drawings:striped shadows on a barn wall, a road sign, trees that look like a dancing couple, a sunlit path descending into dark undergrowth, an ivy covered fence post.

BARN AND MOON

BARN AND MOON

Coming through the woods I turned back on the road lined now by fields and an occasional house with the sea still visible beyond. The Metal Man and his pillars dominate the landscape here but the rusty cows pay him no heed as they amble in the gorsey fields. I pass a bank of rattling reed stems and climb up towards the setting sun.

No matter how many times I do this walk there is always something to look at, always something to see.

STUMP

STUMP

IVY AND THE MOON

IVY AND THE MOON

6 responses to “BREAK-YOUR-HEART-BLUE

    • Thanks suilleabhain. I am not sure what the story is with Rocketts. They closed last June, 2011. They had only refurbished the place sometime around 2007 I think. I’ll make some enquiries and put up a post about it. Watch this space.

      Like

  1. I enjoyed your walk Clare. I take a couple of walks every day down to Garrarus Strand and it is annoying to meet someone and greet them and the only response is silence. Some very rude people out there, however I won’t allow myself to sink to their level and I continue to give a cherry hello. I think it pi****s some of them off !

    Like

    • I know Liam. Its terrible. I passed two girls, sisters I think on the Cliff Road last year, all classy in their shades, chatting a way. I smiled and said Hi or nice day as I passed and they stopped talking and stared at me as if I had tried to assault them. I passed them again later and gave them a big smile and said…shouted nearly…”Its a LOVELY day isnt it?!”They were horrified, great fun for me but the snottiness lingers unfortunately. Foolish people. And not so classy:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

