A LITTLE RUNNING, SOME CLOUDS & STONES

COLD FEET

COLD FEET

Another run on the beach today followed by a nice cooling ice-cold paddle in the sea. I tore ligaments in my ankle during a race last year. Since then I have started using an ice pack after my runs and it works really well to stave off injuries. The sea can work well if you are away from an ice pack, though I usually go in too far and end up soaked.  I don’t mind unless I have to go into the supermarket afterwards because I have found that people there stare at you if you have  wet legs.

It was a lovely day on the beach. There was the makings of a lenticular cloud over the Comeragh Mountains.

Lenticular clouds or altocumulus lenticularis are named after their shape. They are oval and have been mistaken for UFOs. Pilots avoid them as they indicate turbulence. They don’t move a lot and often stay in place for days. In fact they are not even the same droplets you are seeing rather a patch of cold air in which droplets condense as they pass though evaporating again when they hit warmer air. They are cold air made visible. They often form over mountains on the downwind side.

I like them or maybe I like using the word lenticular. It has a nice oval ring to it and I believe that its one of those words that make people think that you know a lot of stuff. It certainly sounds more knowlegeable that using the phrase roundy-clouds.

LENTICULAR OR ROUNDY CLOUD

LENTICULAR OR ROUNDY CLOUD

ANVIL HEAD

ANVIL HEAD

I have special affection for the anvil head cloud or cumulonimbus incus too. The anvil head is always dramatic and portends the coming of stormy weather. It starts as a cumulonimbus cloud and builds upwards in a tower of warm air until it is halted by a layer of warmer and air and is forced to spread out. This happens because of the meeting of different fronts or different winds . They are pretty cool to look at.

From the clouds I started looking at the stones beneath my feet. I could look at them for ages. All the different shapes colours and textures. An amazing variety in even a small random square of beach.  Endlessly fascinating. And often, as with the clouds, you can see shapes and stories in them and they both speak of the passing of time:the clouds constantly evolving before our eyes while that same evolution slowed down over millennia is laid bare in these stones.

STRIPEY

STRIPEY

BEAUTIFUL

BEAUTIFUL

Leave a Reply

